I was previously a parent governor and now a Co-opted Governor.

I have known the school for many years from my own education a long time ago when we were first taught in the flint faced old school ,to much more modern times when the last of our four children left seven years ago.

What we have all taken from the  school was not just an education but a good approach to people and situations in our lives.

This rounded education I feel is an important part of the school.

Anything I can do to support the school I will do to ensure our pupils will gain the best start towards the rest of their lives in education, art , sport etc.

I have been Headteacher at Drayton CE Junior School since Easter 2021. Prior to this I was Headteacher at a primary school, after returning to live in Norfolk in 2017. Whilst I have been a school leader for over 10 years, I also have an additional 20 years experience as a teacher, in both Kent and Bristol, teaching pupils from Year 2 to Year 6.

Making a positive social and educational difference to the lives of children remains my motivator and I continue to believe that teaching the next generation is such a privilege. As Headteacher the scale of the difference that I can make is much greater, providing me with the opportunity to develop teaching staff, as well as support families. I value collaborative governor working on the strategic direction of the school; it is so important, providing different viewpoints, a balance of support and challenge, whilst all working together to achieve the best for the children in their care.

I have taught at Drayton Junior School since 2005 and have been a Governor here since 2014. I believe that providing children with a positive, engaging and nurturing school experience, alongside a broad and well rounded education is vital. As a former pupil of the school and a resident of Drayton, I am pleased to be able to contribute to both the school and community in my role as Governor. 

Roles: Staff Governor, Chair or Curriculum and Pastoral Committee

I’m a parent governor at Drayton Junior, with one of my two children still attending the school.

It’s an honour to be a part of the school community, working with other governors to support staff, and such a joy to meet and talk to pupils.

I’m passionate about the vital and transformational role that education and learning can have and support the school’s aspirations for excellence in teaching and learning, providing enriching experiences for children and cherishing each individual.

As English link governor I support the English subject leads with their curriculum plans and the development of the school library.

Roles: English link governor

In October 2021, I joined the governing board at Drayton Junior School as the Local Authority governor. At the time, I was working in local primary schools across Norwich with a widening participation charity, delivering workshops to raise aspirations and academic achievement. Currently, I work for the University of East Anglia delivering student recruitment events and projects. In my career, I am dedicated to raising aspirations and creating opportunities for young people at different stages in their educational journey. Becoming a governor has given me the opportunity to feel positively connected with young people and the school community. I am very proud to be involved in helping to achieve the best possible outcomes for young people and to participate in the wonderful community fostered by the students, staff, and governors at Drayton Junior School.

Roles: SEN, Mental Health, LAC (Looked after Children)

I joined the board of Governors in late 2022. I have one Son who attends Drayton Junior School and another who will be attending when he is old enough. I am currently the East of England and Midlands Regional Apprenticeship Manager for BT and Openreach. I am also the PREVENT liaison for my company with the Metropolitan Police. I wanted to join the board of Governors as I felt that I had some key skills and knowledge I could use to contribute towards the school. I have a passion for education and believe that every child deserves the best learning environment possible to thrive and realise their potential.

Roles: Cyber Security, Health and Safety

Annual Statement Of Governance 2022-23

Governor Attendance for the academic year.

Governors currently have no governance roles in any other educational institutions. There are no material interests arising between governors and school staff. Governors are required to declare any conflict of interests at the beginning of each meeting. 

If you require any information please contact the school office.